Benno Stein
Prof. Dr. Benno Stein
benno.stein@uni-weimar.de 3795

Interests: Information Retrieval, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence | Projects | Lecturenotes | Publications

Secretaries

Nadin Glaser
Nadin Glaser
nadin.glaser@uni-weimar.de
Bauhausstraße 11 · Room 112
+49 (0)3643 - 58 3710 | Fax 3709
Maria Theresa Hansens
Maria-Theresa Hansens
maria-theresa.hansens@uni-weimar.de
Bauhausstraße 11 · Room 113
+49 (0)3643 - 58 3727 | Fax 3728

Assistants

Yamen Ajjour
Yamen Ajjour
yamen.ajjour@uni-weimar.de 3720

Interests: Machine Learning, Information Extraction | Publications

Khalid Al-Khatib
Khalid Al-Khatib
khalid.alkhatib@uni-weimar.de 3720

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Information Retrieval, Semantic Web | Publications

Janek Bevendorff
Janek Bevendorff
janek.bevendorff@uni-weimar.de 3577

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Machine Learning, Information Retrieval, Data Science, Elasticsearch, Software Engineering, Linux Cluster | Publications

Wei-Fan Chen
Wei-Fan Chen
wei-fan.chen@uni-weimar.de 3863

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Computer Assisted Language Learning | Publications

Roxanne El Baff
Roxanne El Baff
roxanne.el.baff@uni-weimar.de 3811

Interests: Computational Argumentation | Publications

Tim Gollub
Tim Gollub
tim.gollub@uni-weimar.de 3566

Interests: Digital Humanities, Information Retrieval, Web Technologies | Projects:  Process-Oriented Discourse Analysis, Deep Text Analytics, TIRA | Publications

Johannes Kiesel
Johannes Kiesel
johannes.kiesel@uni-weimar.de 3720

Interests: Data Mining, Information Retrieval, Reproducibility | Projects:  ArguAna for the Web, Conversational Search, Web Archive, Wikipedia Vandalism | Publications

Kevin Lang
Kevin Lang
kevin.lang@uni-weimar.de 3703

Research Data Management Officer of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar | Projects:  TKFDM, Web Archive | Publications

Shahbaz Syed
Shahbaz Syed
shahbaz.syed@uni-weimar.de 3811

Interests: Deep Learning, Natural Language Processing, Information Retrieval | Publications

Michael Völske
Michael Völske
michael.voelske@uni-weimar.de 3863

Interests: Information Retrieval, Machine Learning, Data Science | Projects:  CAIR, AItools | Publications

Matti Wiegmann
Matti Wiegmann
matti.wiegmann@uni-weimar.de 3575

Interests: Social Media Analysis, Natural Language Processing, Machine Learning | Publications

Magdalena Wolska
Magdalena Wolska
magdalena.wolska@uni-weimar.de 3567

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Violence Analysis in Text | Publications

External PhDs

Andreas Bunte
Andreas Bunte [2014 - today]
Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe, Lemgo
andreas.bunte@hs-owl.de

Interests: Knowledge-based Modeling of Cyber-Physical Systems, Model-Based Diagnosis | Publications

Former Assistants

Maik Anderka
Dr. Maik Anderka [2007 - 2012]
Diebold Nixdorf
maik@anderka.com

Interests: Machine Learning, Data Mining, Measuring Quality of Web Content, Semantic Retrieval Models | Projects:  Wikipedia Quality, AItools, Web Genres | Publications

Heinrich Balzer
Heinrich Balzer [2006 - 2008]
dSPACE GmbH
hbalzer@dspace.de

Interests: Diagnosis of Technical Systems | Publications

Steven Burrows
Dr. Steven Burrows [2011 - 2012]
Computer Power Institute, Melbourne, Australia
stevenburrows81@gmail.com

Interests: Data Mining, Machine Learning, Digital Engineering, Natural Language Processing, Paraphrasing | Projects:  AItools, Digital Engineering, TIRA | Publications

Astrid Frey
Astrid Frey [2017]

Interests: Statistical Methods, Artificial Intelligence | Publications

Steve Göring
Steve Göring [2014 - 2015]
stg7@gmx.de

Interests: Databases, Big Data, Math | Publications

Matthias Hagen
Prof. Dr. Matthias Hagen [2008 - 2013]
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
matthias.hagen@informatik.uni-halle.de

Interests: Information Retrieval, Natural Language Processing, Data Analytics and Mining | Publications

Dennis Hoppe
Dennis Hoppe [2010 - 2012]
dennis@dennis-hoppe.com

Interests: Data Mining, Recommender Systems, Patent Retrieval | Projects:  CAIR, Wikipedia Vandalism, Wikipedia Fingerprinting, AItools | Publications

Nedim Lipka
Dr. Nedim Lipka [2007 - 2012]
Adobe Systems Inc.
lipka.nedim@gmail.com

Interests: Text Classification, Computational Learning Theory, Semi-Supervised Learning | Projects:  AItools, Web Genres | Publications

Sven Meyer zu Eissen
Dr. Sven Meyer zu Eissen [2005 - 2008]
Bayer Business Services GmbH
sven.meyerzueissen@bayer.com

Interests: Retrieval Models, Web Genre Analysis, Document Categorization, Data Mining, Software Engineering | Projects:  Spock, Web Genres, AItools, AIsearch, Market Forecast | Publications

Tsvetomira Palakarska
Tsvetomira Palakarska [2012 - 2013]
tsvetomira.palakarska@gmail.com  

Interests: Machine Learning, Information Extraction, Opinion Mining, Sentiment Flow | Projects:  ArguAna, AItools | Publications

Martin Potthast
Junior-Prof. Dr. Martin Potthast [2006 - 2017]
martin.potthast@uni-weimar.de

Interests: Plagiarism, Social Software, Writing Tools, Crowdsourcing, Web Comments | Projects:  Netspeak, AItools, Picapica, Wikipedia Vandalism, OpinionCloud, Wikipedia Fingerprinting | Publications

Peter Prettenhofer
Peter Prettenhofer [2009 - 2010]
Adspired Technologies GmbH, Vienna
peter.prettenhofer@gmail.com

Interests: Cross-Lingual Information Retrieval, Information Extraction, Semi-Supervised Learning, Domain Adaptation | Projects:  InfexBA | Publications

Martin Trenkmann
Martin Trenkmann [2013 - 2014]
martin.trenkmann@posteo.de

Interests: Software Engineering, Heuristic Search, Big Data, Opinion Mining | Projects:  Netspeak, AItools, ArguAna, Wikipedia Fingerprinting | Publications

Henning Wachsmuth
Junior-Prof. Dr. Henning Wachsmuth [2015 - 2018]
henningw@upb.de

Interests: Computational Argumentation, Natural Language Processing, Artificial Intelligence | Projects:  ArguAna for the Web, ArguAna, InfexBA | Publications

Student Assistants

Tanveer	Al Jami
Tanveer Al Jami
tanveer.al.jami@uni-weimar.de
Ruta Hareshbhai	Bakhda
Ruta Hareshbhai Bakhda
ruta.hareshbhai.bakhda@uni-weimar.de
Xiaoni Cai
Xiaoni Cai
xiaoni.cai@uni-weimar.de
Jonas	Dorsch
Jonas Dorsch
jonas.dorsch@uni-weimar.de
Marcel Gohsen
Marcel Gohsen
marcel.gohsen@uni-weimar.de
Kim Hiyeon
Hiyeon Kim
hiyeon.kim@uni-weimar.de
Leon Hutans
Leon Hutans
leon.hutans@uni-weimar.de
Leon Etienne Kühr
Leon Etienne Kühr
leon-etienne.kuehr@uni-weimar.de
Kai Lorenz
Kai Lorenz
kai.lorenz@uni-weimar.de
Lars Meyer
Lars Meyer
lars.meyer@uni-weimar.de
Philipp Rudloff
Philipp Rudloff
philipp.rudloff@uni-weimar.de
Patrick Saad
Patrick Saad
patrick.saad@uni-weimar.de
Theresa Tobollik
Theresa Tobollik
theresa.joana.tobollik@uni-weimar.de
Lukas Peter Trautner
Lukas Peter Trautner
lukas.peter.trautner@uni-weimar.de

Visiting Researchers

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Diyar Akay
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Diyar Akay [Oct. 2018 - today]
Gazi University, Ankara, Turkey
diyar.akay@informatik.uni-halle.de

Interests: Fuzzy Sets and Systems, Data Mining, Numerical Data Retrieval
Funded by DAAD

Pavel Braslavski
Dr. Pavel Braslavski [Oct. - Dec. 2018, Oct. 2014, Oct. - Dec. 2013]
Combinatorial Algebra Lab, Ural Federal University
pbras@yandex.ru

Interests: Search Query Log Ananlysis
Funded by DAAD

Alberto Barrón-Cedeño
Dr. Alberto Barrón-Cedeño [Jan. - Feb. 2014]
Qatar Computing Research Institute
albarron@gmail.com

Interests: Multilingual Text Analysis
Funded by BMWi Exist

Edgardo Ferretti
Dr. Edgardo Ferretti [Jan. 2014, Apr. - Jun. 2012]
Universidad Nacional de San Luis, Argentina
edgardo.ferretti@gmail.com

Interests: Wikipedia Quality Analysis
Funded by EU FP7, Marie Curie

Adrian Pastor Lopez Monroy
Dr. Adrian Pastor Lopez Monroy [Jul. - Sep. 2013]
National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics and Electronics, Mexico

Interests: Text Understanding
Funded by EU FP7, Marie Curie

Robert H. Warren
Dr. Robert H. Warren [Jul. 2012, Jun. 2010, Feb. 2009]
Carleton University, Canada (2012). University of Zurich, Switzerland (2010). University of Waterloo, Canada (2009).
rwarren@math.carleton.ca

Interests: Database Integration, Semantic Web